Dr. Federico Negri (Switzerland) wins an ECCOMAS award

ECCOMAS PhD Awards – 2015
The meeting of the Evaluation Committee for the ECCOMAS award for the best PhD theses 2015 was held on April 1st, 2016 at CIMNE, Barcelona. As an answer to the call for tender, the ECCOMAS member associations nominated 17 theses. The Evaluation Committee was composed by Nils-Erik Wiberg (chairman), Claudia Comi, Harald Van Brummelen, Stefan Vandewalle and Pedro Díez (secretary).

After a detailed discussion, a voting process was held in two phases. First, after a secret voting the number of theses was reduced from 17 to 7. In a second round, the number was reduced to 2 theses that were ranked well above the rest. Then the committee discussed the merits of these 2 theses, evaluating the different aspects of each and unanimously agreed on selecting them as the two winners.

The two winners are:

  • Dr. Ursula Rasthofer (Germany) for the thesis « Computational Multiscale Methods for Turbulent Single and Two-Phase Flows « 
  • Dr. Federico Negri (Switzerland) for the thesis « Efficient Reduction Techniques for the Simulation and Optimization of Parametrized Systems: Analysis and Applications

Source: ECCOMAS.org